View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 9:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1343
Location: Orlando FL
How do I kill MythFrontend? I have tried the menu item "exit mythtv" and it will kill mythfrontend and then automatically restart it. I tried killing in top and it comes right back. I only want to kill mythfrontned to better test Kodi. Kodi still doesn't respond to my remote I think it's because MythTV is still receiving the remote commands in the background.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 4:34 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
Not sure how KM does it (ie a service or launched from a script)... have you tried from an shell (ssh):
Code:
# killall mythfrontend

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:44 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1343
Location: Orlando FL
Thanks Graysky but it still restarts. If it matters I have a FE/BE machine.
BTW Graysky your Lirc tutorial on Github https://github.com/graysky2/streamzap was helpful in troubleshooting why my remote isn't working in Kodi. It's still not working, but it was helpful.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 7:15 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
mattbatt wrote:
Thanks Graysky but it still restarts. If it matters I have a FE/BE machine.


It must be running via the init system which restarts in the case of a failure. I think KM uses runit so you might want to look where runit stores its service files.

mattbatt wrote:
BTW Graysky your Lirc tutorial on Github https://github.com/graysky2/streamzap was helpful in troubleshooting why my remote isn't working in Kodi. It's still not working, but it was helpful.


Which remote?

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 7:51 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1343
Location: Orlando FL
streamzap it works perfectly fine in MythTv and mplayer but Kodi never sees it. I wanted to see if it was because MythTv was steeling the key presses.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 9:23 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 690
Back in the day when I had troubleshoot the firefly remote and XBMC the file Lircmap.xml was the place to define the remotes for xbmc. You could try to add your remote config to the end of the file.... Just make add a couple of buttons and see if it starts to work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 9:37 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1343
Location: Orlando FL
Thanks RacerX I have this file at /usr/share/kodi/system/Lircmap.xml and ~/.kodi/userdata/Lircmap.xml.
Code:
<!--  ~/.xbmc/userdata/Lircmap.xml                                                  -->
<!--                                                                                -->
<!--  This file maps XBMC_buttons to LIRC_buttons                                   -->
<!--
 and is works with a custom ~/.xbmc/userdata/remote.xml which maps           
-->
<!--  XBMC_buttons to actions                                                       -->
<!--                                                                                -->
<!--  How to add remotes                                                            -->
<!--  <remote device="name_Lirc_calls_the_remote">                                  -->
<!--                                                                                -->
<!--
 For the commands the layout following layout is used                         
-->
<!--  <XBMC_button>LIRC_button</XBMC_button>                                        -->
<lircmap>
<remote device="Streamzap_PC_Remote">
<power>KEY_POWER</power>
<play>KEY_PLAY</play>
<pause>KEY_PAUSE</pause>
<stop>KEY_STOP</stop>
<forward>KEY_FORWARD</forward>
<reverse>KEY_REWIND</reverse>
<left>KEY_LEFT</left>
<right>KEY_RIGHT</right>
<up>KEY_UP</up>
<down>KEY_DOWN</down>
<pageplus>KEY_CHANNELUP</pageplus>
<pageminus>KEY_CHANNELDOWN</pageminus>
<select>KEY_OK</select>
<back>KEY_EXIT</back>
<menu>KEY_MENU</menu>
<title>KEY_RED</title>
<info>KEY_GREEN</info>
<display>KEY_YELLOW</display>
<blue>KEY_BLUE</blue>
<skipplus>KEY_NEXT</skipplus>
<skipminus>KEY_PREVIOUS</skipminus>
<record>KEY_RECORD</record>
<volumeplus>KEY_VOLUMEUP</volumeplus>
<volumeminus>KEY_VOLUMEDOWN</volumeminus>
<mute>KEY_MUTE</mute>
<record>KEY_RECORD</record>
<one>KEY_1</one>
<two>KEY_2</two>
<three>KEY_3</three>
<four>KEY_4</four>
<five>KEY_5</five>
<six>KEY_6</six>
<seven>KEY_7</seven>
<eight>KEY_8</eight>
<nine>KEY_9</nine>
<zero>KEY_0</zero>
</remote>
</lircmap>

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 1:32 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Lexington, Ky
The frontend is a service so you can use the command line the sv command to start and stop it.
Code:
sv stop frontend
#
sv start frontend


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 8:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 690
what results do you get from irw?

Code:
irw /dev/lircd


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 7:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1343
Location: Orlando FL
this can't be good.
Code:
$ irw /dev/lircd
connect: No such file or directory

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 8:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 690
How about

Code:
irw


and then press some of the keys


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:23 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1343
Location: Orlando FL
Seems to work.

Code:
$irw
00000000000028d4 00 DOWN Streamzap_PC_Remote
00000000000028d4 01 DOWN Streamzap_PC_Remote
00000000000028d4 00 DOWN_UP Streamzap_PC_Remote
00000000000028d3 00 RIGHT Streamzap_PC_Remote
00000000000028d3 01 RIGHT Streamzap_PC_Remote
00000000000028d3 00 RIGHT_UP Streamzap_PC_Remote

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:23 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 690
When did break? Recently or when you upgraded to R8.3? Is is fair to say it worked with XBMC in R8.2?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 12:50 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1343
Location: Orlando FL
it has never worked in XBMC or Kodi as of 7.* something when I first tried installing XBMC.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 12:55 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
If lirc is reading scancodes, there is no reason why it wouldn't work in kodi. Did you use the templates I provided on my github repo?

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu