View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2021 11:55 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1421
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I have moved from using MythTV FE to nVidia Shield and Kodi, love to here your thoughts, but what I want to know has anyone used their BE to store their Kodi data?

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2021 7:09 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:44 pm
Posts: 578
I have a similar setup. I don't really have a need to sync multiple kodi clients, so I have not setup the mysql shared database. My initial thought is that it would create an entirely different database in mysql, so there shouldn't be an issue, but like any change to the system, you will want to have a good backup "just in case".


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2021 8:13 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1421
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I just realised that my NAS also have the functionality of being able to be a SQL server.

Anyone got any thoughts on using the SQL Server on their NAS, my QNAP is a number of years old and it says it is running MariaDB 5.5.57?

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2021 10:06 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1342
Location: Orlando FL
I miss the commercial skipping and I have really gotten used to the Myth interface I tried switching but I went back to a Master FE/BE

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2021 4:56 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1421
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I pulled the trigger on this and it is working great, with the DB on my NAS.

On the NAS I installed phpMyAdmin to set up the required permissions but that was all.

The only issue I had was when Kodi upgraded from 18.9 to 19.0 that caused a bit of a nightmare. To get around this I have install Kodi on my main day to day PC and run that when I need to update stuff and leave the other Kodi instances just to run as normal without scanning for new content.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu