View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: Mythweb slow
PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 4:43 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:05 pm
Posts: 250
Location: GA, USA
Since returning to MythTV and Mythweb in late 2019, I've noticed it's painfully slow when trying to list recordings, for example. We use MythTV to record a wide variety of programs so that we have a choice when it's time to watch some TV, which isn't a large percentage of our time. That means we have hundreds of recordings at any given time. Right now the "Family" group has 373 recordings, and after 2 minutes it's still not finished serving the web page. Searches are slow, too, making me wonder if it's a database issue or the fact that we now have 300+ channels and I continue to find duplicated (or even triplicated) channels in the list.

Other than reducing the number of stored programs, is there any way to speed up MythWeb? The WAF is so low that my wife never opens MythWeb anymore, where she used to before our move led us to boxing up MythTV for 3 years. Instead she winds up emailing me programs she wants to watch, and then I setup the recording schedules. It ain't much, but it's honest work :-)

_________________
LinHES R8.6 BE/FE GIGABYTE GA-X48-DS5 / EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+ / 4GB DDR2 RAM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mythweb slow
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2021 12:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 386
Location: South New Jersey, USA
Not sure how to help you except to confirm that something is wonky in your box.

My box has 213 shows and the recordings page displays is less than a second. Are you connecting through the internet IP (external) or an internal IP address? If external maybe it is your internet service upload speed.

_________________
LINHES 8.6.1 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 4GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime. Nvidia GT210. MCE remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mythweb slow
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2021 12:35 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:05 pm
Posts: 250
Location: GA, USA
Thanks. This is through the internal IP address on my 1000GB network. Speed isn't an issue anywhere else in the network, just loading MythWeb. Since the system is over 10 years old and has who knows how many remnants of previous installs/manual interventions, I've been thinking about starting from scratch with a fresh 8.6 install. I'm also considering dumping MythTV after 17 years of use and moving to the Channels+ DVR. If I could get my wife using MythWeb again that would probably solve the problem, but as it stands I need to do something to speed it up. I've tried optimizing the tables, changing some my.cnf variables, and running the mysqltuner script. No change so far.

_________________
LinHES R8.6 BE/FE GIGABYTE GA-X48-DS5 / EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+ / 4GB DDR2 RAM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mythweb slow
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2021 2:16 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 7:08 pm
Posts: 124
Doomed,

You had a post last summer titles "Generate MythWeb missing thumbnails"

In that post, I posited that your missing thumbnails may have been due to incorrect hostnames in your database. I also had similar slow response in mythweb when I had database entries using an incorrect hostname. It is important to remember that even if you have a thumbnail in what you consider the correct location, if the database entry for that specific recording has an incorrect entry for hostname, the lookup will timeout and fail as it is looking for the thumbnail on the hostname specified in the database entry for the recording, resulting in slow response times.

I would once again ask you check your database for incorrect hostnames

you can do this by doing:

Code:
mysql -u mythtv -pmythtv mythconverg

select hostname from recorded ;
exit ;

the output from my database shows:

Code:
mysql> select hostname from recorded ;
+--------------+
| hostname     |
+--------------+
| mythtv.local |

snip snip

| mythtv.local |
+--------------+
599 rows in set (0.00 sec)



_________________
DH87MC i7-4770 16GB ram Xonar Essence ST geforce 710 LinHes 8.6


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mythweb slow
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2021 2:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:05 pm
Posts: 250
Location: GA, USA
welner wrote:

Code:
mysql -u mythtv -pmythtv mythconverg

select hostname from recorded ;
exit ;



Yep, you are correct. I discounted the possibility at the time, because I thought my installation had always been "mythmaster." After thinking more about it, I realized I initially used the hostname "mythtv" and later changed to "mythmaster" when I briefly had a second mythslave installation. Now I have a number of recordings with the old "mythtv" hostname. What's the best way to change all of the hostname entries to the correct one?

Thanks for reminding me of what I was supposed to have tried back in July :-)

EDIT: Does this look like the correct code?

Code:
mysql -umythtv -p mythconverg -e "UPDATE recorded SET hostname = 'mythmaster' WHERE hostname = 'mythtv';"

_________________
LinHES R8.6 BE/FE GIGABYTE GA-X48-DS5 / EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+ / 4GB DDR2 RAM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mythweb slow
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2021 2:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:05 pm
Posts: 250
Location: GA, USA
DoomedTX wrote:

Code:
mysql -umythtv -p mythconverg -e "UPDATE recorded SET hostname = 'mythmaster' WHERE hostname = 'mythtv';"


Oh my word, that was it! I can't believe I've put up with a slow mythweb so long without finding the answer! I made this change, and now the recorded programs loads in about 3 seconds! Thanks, welner!

_________________
LinHES R8.6 BE/FE GIGABYTE GA-X48-DS5 / EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+ / 4GB DDR2 RAM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mythweb slow
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2021 2:59 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 7:08 pm
Posts: 124
well, I am glad it worked, and I hope your wife will be happier. You did run this command before I saw your first response. Given time, I would have warned you to

1> make a backup of the database
2> stop the backend
3> change just one incorrect entry & evaluate
4> do the mass update if things looked well

_________________
DH87MC i7-4770 16GB ram Xonar Essence ST geforce 710 LinHes 8.6


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu