View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 7:01 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 425
Location: Charlotte, NC
I, like several people, am having the segfault issue with 2 of my frontend machines and am trying to downgrade the nvidia driver to 280.13 (a stable release). I have installed mercurial, gcc, and make - need linhes headers. Can someone please provide instructions to download headers for 7.1? Thanks.

_________________
Backend server - 4.0 TB 3.0ghz dual core 6 gig RAM, nVidia 9400, Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 MB, 2 HD-5500, 2 HD Homerun dual tuners, 3 frontend machines - LinHES 8.6.1


Last edited by nbdwt73 on Fri Dec 02, 2011 4:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 8:34 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:13 pm
Posts: 480
Location: IN
to get just the headers:

Code:
sudo pacman -Sy kernel26-headers


or better yet, to get everything you need to build your own packages:

Code:
sudo pacman -Sy base-devel

_________________
ABIT NF-M2 nView | Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 800 | HDHomerun | GeForce 6150 (onboard) | WD 640 GB SATA HD | DVD-RW (sata) | StreamZap IR receiver with Logitech Harmony remote

Vizio 37" LCD HDTV (1080p)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 2:11 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 425
Location: Charlotte, NC
Thanks Martian. For anybody else having the segfault issue, the 280.13 seems to have fixed the issue (so far)... The following is a simple method to back-rev the Nvidia driver.

Download Nvidia drivers (http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us)

sudo pacman –Sy mercurial
sudo pacman –Sy gcc
sudo pacman –Sy make
(or if you want all pkgb build stuff - sudo pacman -Sy base-devel)

sudo pacman -Sy kernel26-headers

sv stop frontend

sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-280.13.run
and follow scripts... Reboot.

_________________
Backend server - 4.0 TB 3.0ghz dual core 6 gig RAM, nVidia 9400, Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 MB, 2 HD-5500, 2 HD Homerun dual tuners, 3 frontend machines - LinHES 8.6.1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 4:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 7:58 am
Posts: 507
This is good news.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 2:14 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1532
Location: California
I was having the stability problems so I follow the instructions. Looks like it downloaded a new version -- 290.10. I ran the script and now I am stuck in 640x480. Xorg.0.log contains the following:
Code:
[    26.666] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): The EDID read for display device DFP-0 is inva\
lid: the
[    26.666] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     checksum for EDID version 1 is invalid.



Has anyone else seen anything like this? Any ideas? Thanks!

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 2:35 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1532
Location: California
I download & installed 280.13 -- same problem with EDID not being read and being stuck at 640x480.

Question: I am running this via a remote putty window, not on the console. Could this cause any problems?

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:30 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 425
Location: Charlotte, NC
Did you allow the script to recreate xorg.conf? Or are you running your old xorg?

FYI - I ran mine from an SSH window - no problem.

_________________
Backend server - 4.0 TB 3.0ghz dual core 6 gig RAM, nVidia 9400, Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 MB, 2 HD-5500, 2 HD Homerun dual tuners, 3 frontend machines - LinHES 8.6.1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1532
Location: California
First time through on 290.10 I told it not to re-create xorg.conf. Had the problems. Second time through on 290.10 I answered yes and I still had problems. Third time through on 283.13 I answer yes and still had the same problem of being locked into 640x480, but the seg faults stopped happening.

I then hand-edited xorg.conf and essentially replaced it with the contents of an xorg.conf I had hanging around from R6.04 and I was able to get all my resolutions again. I've posted my xorg.conf below -- would someone mind posting the xorg.conf they get from their R7 system that is working properly? I'd like to diff them.

Code:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 280.13  (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-05.nvidia.com)  Wed Jul 27 17:18:55 PDT 2011

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"

#    RgbPath         "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "extmod"
#    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "AutoAddDevices" "False"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "keyboard"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

#    HorizSync
#    VertRefresh
#INSERT MODELINE
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    Option         "DPMS" "false"
EndSection

Section "Device"

#END OPTIONS
#    Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
#    Option "FlatPanelProperties" "Scaling = centered, Dithering = enabled"
#    Option "DigitalVibrance" "0"
#    Option "TransparentIndex" "0"
#    Option  "CursorShadowAlpha" "64"
#    Option  "CursorShadowXOffset"  "4"
#    Option  "UseEdidFreqs" "True"
#    Option  "NvAGP" "1"
    Identifier     "Card0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Card0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "DPI" "100 x 100"
    Option         "NoLogo" "1"
#INSERT HERE
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection


Thanks!

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:58 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1532
Location: California
Quick update. I have discovered that the keyboard connected to the computer no longer works. /var/log/Xorg.conf.log contains the following error:
Code:
[ 72691.859] (EE) Failed to load module "kbd" (module does not exist, 0)


Any ideas on how to resolve this would be appreciated.

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:14 pm
Posts: 425
Location: Charlotte, NC
My xorg from one of my frontend machines (Zotac) - no modifications from the autobuild:

Code:
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder75)  Tue Dec  8 21:07:34 PST 2009

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder3)  Tue Aug  1 21:11:12 PDT 2006

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
#    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"

#    RgbPath         "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "extmod"
#    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "AutoAddDevices" "False"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "keyboard"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

#    HorizSync       
#    VertRefresh   
#INSERT MODELINE
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Panasonic-TV"
#    HorizSync       15.0 - 45.0
#    VertRefresh     59.0 - 61.0
    Option         "DPMS" "false"
#    DisplaySize  203 153
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
#    BoardName      "ION"
    Option         "DPI" "100 x 100"
    Option         "NoLogo" "1"
    Option "TripleBuffer" "True"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
#    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
#    Option         "TwinView" "0"
#    Option         "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

_________________
Backend server - 4.0 TB 3.0ghz dual core 6 gig RAM, nVidia 9400, Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 MB, 2 HD-5500, 2 HD Homerun dual tuners, 3 frontend machines - LinHES 8.6.1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:00 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1532
Location: California
Thanks for posting that. Unfortunately, I have the same keyboard problem. I just used "pacman -S xf86-input-keyboard" and "pacman -S xf86-input-mouse". I no longer have errors my my Xorg logs. I'm not near the machine right now -- will check the keyboard when I get home.

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:56 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:58 pm
Posts: 33
I was having the same issues after upgrading to 7.1. On boot, keyboard is not responding, also getting the kbd errors in Xorg.0.log. The
Code:
pacman -Sy xf86-input-mouse xf86-input-keyboard

fixed it for me.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu